So I'm looking at two S60R's. They are broken down like this:

1. Mr. Scary Silver
  • Silver
  • cheap at $4k
  • needs paint work due to the factory body work being hashed
  • warning for bulb out and SRS lit
  • runs and drives out good
  • MANUAL
  • Factory front bumper was pulled off snapping all the mounts and hastily reinstalled.

2. Red
  • RED!!!
  • Automatic
  • 107k on it
  • $7k
  • Better interior
  • exterior almost flawless
  • an auto, damnit
  • No factory body kit.
  • Seems more responsibly owned.

So, about me. I'm an expert mechanic. Full body off truck work for Japanese trucks and off road racing, and an enormous amount of experience with euro cars. I have owned 5 Volvo turbo back in the day. So I'm not jumping into this unawares. What says the forums about these two potential cars?

·
Registered
174 Posts
what state do you want to travel to...?

It was hard to drive a new one off the lot 10 years ago without scraping the chin. New painted nose is ~ $700 iirc. I only pulled mine once, but the mouting hdwe seemed like mostly cheap plastic bits, but you can look that stuff up on www.tascaparts.com iirc if you want to see what you're up against with that probably minor issue.

It's hard to find 2 Rs that are (especially that ride; some 4C systems work more poorly than others) the same; unless/until you critically judge each one's suspension -- and even afterward, so critical are tires, pressures, bushing condition, etc -- you won't know how nice(-ridng) a caR it might be. On mine the LCA bushings are only good for ~ 30K miles, and they're totally shot by ~ 70K mi. IOW, some parts of the caR are so frail (or, in this case, abused by the panicky suspension computer) that there's no diff between 107K and 177K. Others are so robust that there's no diff! The red one (probably? 10 yrs old already?) needs a timing belt (kit).