SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The 07 is a New BMW trade in. 1 owner no accidents and newish good year tires it’s a 3.7 out of 5 on condition report. Main flaws are cracked and weathered headlamps and a few scratches in the black paint

The 11 is a trade in at Porsche Audi store. 2 owner no accidents and new generic tires. It is a 4.6 out of 5 on condition which is unheard of considering 132k miles. I have a hard time finding a 2018 CPO Volvo with 5000 miles and that high of a score.

We already have a niece at college in a 07 3.2 and she has logged close to 40k on it fairly trouble free. Hers is a 2wd so we are pretty familiar with them.

The 11 v8 has Bluetooth and backup camera. So there is a strong appeal because of those safety features But I have ZERO knowledge and experience with the v8. I’m a 5cyl turbo guy myself.

This car is for the second neice headed off to college She has been driving a hemi powered commander which is staying home for the neice turning 16 next month. I am a dealer and I am buying one of the 2 tomorrow. $10k budget so I’m good there.

But which one? Any ideas? Thoughts? Thank you. Joe

·
Registered
3,140 Posts
Last year of the V8, it's as "new" as you'll ever get in this powertrain variant.

8 year old car, 132k miles so serp needs done before the car goes off to college. It'll be a good time to do a full fluid swap as well, just to know it's done. Check up top, should a little bit seepy on the top of the back bank at this mileage unless someone has already done valve cover gaskets or deep cleaned the engine. The upper torque mount will be shot unless it's been replaced in the last could years.

Likely an Executive, if it's an R/D you'll have found a very rare vehicle.

Good luck

·
Registered
621 Posts
Go for the 2011. Just because it has Bluetooth. Your daughter grew up with Bluetooth. She will never forgive you for getting an old car without Bluetooth.