SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, being a vintage Volvo noob I've never had much to contribute here, but have always enjoyed the posts-thank you!

A while back I posted a photo of my then-new '67 122S.

Mid-November, as I was heading home from Pioneer Square in Seattle and getting onto the Viaduct, I lost control of the car and hit the onramp sideguard.

I didn't intend on getting back into another Amazon for a while but earlier this year my mechanic had a nice '66 220 for sale at the right price and I couldn't pass it up! It's been upgraded to a B20 and overdrive, and I've been loving it.

Problem is that it's got rust issues to which I'm going to need to tend. As I've mentioned before, I'm not mechanically-inclined-my do-it-yourself know-how's limited to filling up gas, checking oil and filling up tires-and have no idea how to address the rusting. The biggest concern right now is the driver's floorpan, which is rusted through.

In general, the interior can get feeling pretty damp on the wet winter Seattle days, and while I don't have the cash to do anything drastic, I figure a reasonably prudent thing to do would be to address all rusting along the underside of the car and perhaps get all window and door seals replaced. I'm sure this is non-trivial and $$$ as is, but it'd allow me to have a reasonably dry car until I'm in a position for more extensive repair/repainting.

My mechanic's not willing to take on bodywork so I need to find an outfit who would. I've noticed a fair Northwest population here and was hoping you guys might be able to hook me up with someone who'd do quality work. Proximity to Seattle is obviously a plus, but I'd be willing to travel to Oregon, Idaho or BC for the right person. Ideally this project would build a relationship for that fatefully day when I strike gold and can do more extensive body restoration.