SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm new to this side of the forum but not new to Volvo wagons.

Looking for one more car in the family and besides a S60R I was looking at XC70. Back in 2003 I test drive it along with that year Outback H6 and I was not impressed by either. What I did not like about the XC70 was the suspension (car wobbled so much) and the auto transmission (was taking ages to change gears). The Outback had a cheap interior (even the LL Bean edition) but the engine/suspension were superior (in 2005 they got a much different new model out).

So fast forward to today if I want a XC70 P2 (need to stay in the budget so P3 is out) what should I look for? Were the latter models improved? Which year is the best to buy?

Also what issues should I watch out for that year when I go shopping?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Wow, no answer? Are the XC70 so good that there is nothing to look for when buying a used one?

I already know about the angle gear. How about the auto transmission? Any other part particular to the XC?

·
Registered
17,797 Posts
03-04 are the best early ones, 06-07 bet later ones. All same engine and trans.

Look for dry engines and awd system parts, replacement of systems gets expensive fast.

They all need springs and struts since the springs break and the struts fail.

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
They are all very old now, you need to love these cars like insane and be ready to dump tons of money over and over again. Unless you get one from Volvo forum guys.

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the answers. It looks worse than I thought. Maybe I should reconsider my options and go for something else. If you have suggestions please let me know.