SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all-

looking at picking up an '04 XC90 with the 5 cyl engine. It has about 95K miles on it. It is SUPER clean as is the carfax report. It is a really really good deal (but from a family member, so, not just a good deal cuz someone needs to dump it).....what ate the major issues that I could expect with this year and engine config?

thank you all.....really looking to get back into an XC90...just can't go through the debacle I already went through with my 05 V8. I don't think I need to explain that issue....

·
Registered
2021 Volvo S60 T5 AWD
7,283 Posts
Someone asked that question. The thread should be a few lines down so look around for it.

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
I looked through 6 pages ... I missed it I guess?

I'm not an expert, but I have some experience with a 2005 2.5T. :

We had the oil cooler failed on us ... a real mess and an engine risk! Most folks don't have this issue, so just be aware of it. If you see oil in the coolant ... stop, and study the situation carefully!

The cambelt is due at 120k miles. If you start gathering genuine Volvo replacement parts now at discount locations, you can have less than $300 invested ... and have both belts, water pump, cam belt idler and tensioner ready to go when due. It is not a bad job and requires no special wrenches, contrary to what most instructions tell you. It seems many on-line instructions for replacing the cambelt are plucked out of total engine tear-down directions. You need to go no further than removing the crank shaft balancer ... you do not need to remove the crank pulley or dismantle the oil pump!

EDIT: I should be more specific ... the special tool is obviously the easiest way to remove the vibration damper ... I am pointing out that there are several possible "work arounds" ... but one must be careful not to damage the damper or other parts.