SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, Would like to purchased an S60R as my next vehicle, but folks have been telling me it might not be a good pick for our climate conditions. Connecticut, USA. His anyone driven an R in snow climate, am concerned about the possibity of future problems with Rims and Tires. As far as I know low profile tires and wide rims don't do well in snow and ice. Also potholes could be a problem. I am a careful driver, but I don't want to be surprised with a big bill for a new tire or rim. Have driven SUV's for the past 10 years, thus the logic of my question. Thanks for a grear forum...

·
Premium Member
3,357 Posts
Re: Volvo S60R , Opinions on year round use, in snow area? (jack9139)

There are plenty of folks who drive their R's in the Northeast. The R comes from the factory with Summer tires only so you'll need to either buy a set of snow tires or a complete set of winter rims/tires for the R.

As far as I've heard, the R does a great job as long as you know the limits. You can't drive an R though 2 feet of snow. As long as you are careful with driving the R around, there shouldn't be any surprises.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Volvo S60R , Opinions on year round use, in snow area? (Volvo Grrrr)

Thanks for the information, if I plan on purchasing and keeping the car for years it would seem a second set the winter tires on rims would be the way to go. Are there special rims recommended for winter.

·
Registered
21,166 Posts

Quote, originally posted by jack9139 »
Are there special rims recommended for winter.

Tire Rack has a few less expensive sets but you'll most likely need hub rings. I run 225/45/17 Michelin Pilot Alpin PA2's on 17" Pegs. You could also mount all seasons on 17" Pegs if you're not into switching. That will give you a bit more sidewall year round.

·
Registered
14,438 Posts