Sydney Motorsport Park saw the first official appearance on track of the Volvo S60 V8 Supercar back in February, and this weekend marks the return of the team to the track for the Sydney 400.

The Volvo Polestar Racing drivers head to the race strengthened after a successful test day at Winton.

"The test day has been really good for us. We know where we can start from and I am really looking forward to putting what we learned into action," said Scott McLaughlin.

The return to Sydney Motorsport Park also means that Robert Dahlgren races for the first time this season at a track on which he has prior experience.

"It is almost like my home track in Australia, if I was to pick one. I think the track will be good for the Volvo and we have an interesting weekend ahead of us - let's go racing!" said Dahlgren.

This weekend features a hectic two-day schedule with two practice sessions on Saturday, followed by two qualifying sessions and two races. Sunday features a single qualifying session followed by a final longer race of 51 laps.

"It is going to be a bit different with a two-day weekend. Our car is pretty good on the high-speed tracks [but] the biggest thing will be getting some turn in from our car and the race pace. But I think we have got a pretty awesome weekend ahead of us," said McLaughlin.

The Volvo Polestar Racing cars will also feature a Cure Brain Cancer logo on the bonnets this weekend as a part of Volvo Car Australia's partnership with the brain cancer research foundation, founded by Dr Charlie Teo AM.

The partnership has so far generated over $1 million via Volvo Car Australia's Dealer Network, an occasion which was celebrated recently in Sydney.

Sydney Motorsport Park 400
Circuit: Eastern Creek
Length: 3.9km
Lap record (V8SC): 1:30.9123, Garth Tander, 2012

Saturday 23 August
09:00 Practice 1 (30min)
10:30 Practice 2 (30min)
12:30 Qualifying - Race 26 (10min)
12:50 Qualifying - Race 27 (10min)
14:25 Race 26 (26 laps)
16:30 Race 27 (26 laps)

Sunday 24 August
12:40 Qualifying - Race 28 (20min)
15:45 Race 28 (51 laps)

Championship positions - Top 10 (25/38 races)
1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore 1790 points
2 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon 1775 (-15)
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore 1628 (-162)
4 James Courtney Holden Commodore 1598 (-192)
5 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore 1535 (-255)
6 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore 1532 (-258)
7 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1347 (-443)
8 Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon 1322 (-468)
9 Garth Tander Holden Commodore 1309 (-481)
10 David Reynolds Ford Falcon 1201 (-589)
25 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 531 (-1259)