SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello ladies and gents,

I'm new to the whole Volvo scene (if there is one). This is actually my wife's 2008 XC90. I have always worked on all of my vehicles. I've found that Volvo likes to do things a bit different.
I've also found that this website has all if not most answers to my questions.
I haven't been able to find an answer to the key fob. She got the car from a used car lot and it came with a valet key and a Viper alarm key fob.
Here is one thing that I noticed, last year I searched for "installing an aftermarket unit on XC90", everything kept pointing to "it's impossible unless you're an electrical engineer" which I've now found is not true according to the sticky on the XC90's sub category.
Can an aftermarket fob be programmed with the OEM system?
Was there a brave soul that managed to install a basic alarm system on my wife's car?

I appreciate everyone's input and help.

Thank you.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Can an aftermarket fob be programmed with the OEM system?
Was there a brave soul that managed to install a basic alarm system on my wife's car?
Technically, yes you could as all key fobs work pretty much the same way: they use a Rolling Code which needs to be synchronised to the car:

However each manufacturer encodes the data slightly differently (I'm picking a different encryption key) and this is what stops a lot of other keyfobs being able to be synchronised to the car.

As for you second question: there are 327 Million people in the USA, of which around 1/3 or 100 million are of working age.

So you question is: "Was there a brave soul in the 100 million working age people in the USA that installed an alarm on my wife's car?"
That's a 1-in-a-million question.
But we can apply further logic: if the alarm is fitted, then a YES is the correct answer.