SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the world of Volvos and am being properly introduced to the possible symptoms of ETM/throttle body issues within the month of the purchase of my 01 V70 T5. Don't get me wrong, it's a wonderful car - the best I've ever owned in my 20 years of living - however I must tackle these gremlins as one must frequently do upon the purchase of a used car.

With this said, I was wondering if there was anyone in the Knoxville, TN area with a VIDA/DICE that could lend a hand in doing a scan on my car to figure out what's wrong with it. I have a DIR message that states "Engine System Service Required" and a check engine code P0442, "Main Catalyst Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1)."

I conjecture that my issue is similar to the issue found here.

The post with the issues I'm facing can be found here.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
459 Posts
If you have a CAT code then you need a CAT. If you have a brake pedal position sensor code then you need a brake pedal position sensor. Your drivability issue may be a plugged PCV system, This dramatically affects the vaccum/pressure signal in the intake manifold. Its also possible the CAT is causing a exhaust restriction.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
From my understanding of the issue, the EVAP code does not necessarily mean I need a catalytic converter, as that code can appear for a range of various issues. I am unsure if I have a break pedal position sensor code, as I do not have a VIDA /DICE. I am thinking I may just have to take it to a mechanic to get these things figured out, as the multitude of issues is quite daunting to the Volvo newcomer I am. I will update this thread with the results of their findings.

·
Registered
7,737 Posts
I am also in Knoxville and somewhat familiar with what you're going through and have VIDA but no Dice...sorry about that.