SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Update: 12/12/2020; Updated SQL for 2018 cars.
Update: 6/27/2020; Updated guide to make changes to database for all models.


This is version 2 of guide. This updated version is easier to use and by following it you will modify VIDA's database to not reject your VIN based on the year. As far as I know it looks like this is what should be sold on eBay as "VIDA 2015A".

Before I provide detailed instructions, enter don't do this warning:
I provide NO guarantee and if you damage your computer/car I'm not taking any responsibility for this. Before you start, backup your VIDA bacause it might stop working.

Here is the guide:
  1. Download and install SQL Server and Management Studio (SSMS)
  2. Open a new window for SQL query, copy and paste the text below and hit Execute. Below is the screenshot of what you should see at the end.


    DELETE FROM [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel] WHERE YearCode = 'G' OR YearCode = 'H' OR YearCode = 'J' ;

    INSERT INTO [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel] ( VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, YearCode, ObjVersion)
    SELECT VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, 'G', ObjVersion
    FROM [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel]
    WHERE YearCode = 'F';

    INSERT INTO [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel] ( VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, YearCode, ObjVersion)
    SELECT VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, 'H', ObjVersion
    FROM [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel]
    WHERE YearCode = 'F';

    INSERT INTO [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel] ( VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, YearCode, ObjVersion)
    SELECT VinStartPos, VinEndPos, VinCompare, fkVehicleModel, fkModelYear, fkBodyStyle, fkPartnerGroup, ChassisNoFrom, ChassisNoTo, YearCodePos, 'J', ObjVersion
    FROM [basedata].[dbo].[VINDecodeModel]
    WHERE YearCode = 'F';




  3. Enjoy VIDA and if you feel thankful you can buy me a beer: Ondrej

This is my own work but I got the idea from discussion on facebook from 2018 facebook.com/groups/1921217794833193/permalink/2149268555361448/

Cheers and enjoy your Volvo!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
728 Posts
Nice have to try it hope it will work on my 2017 s60
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,032 Posts
Awesome work! I only have a copy of VIDA 2013A. Is it possible to get a copy of VIDA 2014D with the edited database?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Awesome work! I only have a copy of VIDA 2013A. Is it possible to get a copy of VIDA 2014D with the edited database?
I don't have all the knowlege on the differences between 2016 - 2018 P3 VIN numbers and it would probably take some serious time to add these changes for all possible combinations. I did provide a way to modify some of the data to read your own VIN.

I would recommend downloading 2014D from here: https://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?481385-VIDA-Dice-2014D-VM-Image-Download-Link
and then changing the database based on the guide I wrote.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
WOW! I wonder if it would work for my2018 s60 but after reading your instructions I have some doubts if I would be able to modify the DB on my own.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
“ Weekend is here and I had a few hours for writing this down.”

Really... copy and paste is that tough? At least give the guy credit where you got this...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
“ Weekend is here and I had a few hours for writing this down.”

Really... copy and paste is that tough? At least give the guy credit where you got this...
Wrote this myself and posted to both Swedespeed and matthewsvolvosite. Not going to argue with someone on the internet the second time. If you don't believe me then check the comments here https://www.facebook.com/groups/1921217794833193/permalink/2527582727530027/

And I did give credit to the Facebook post where I got the idea from.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Also, if you have Windows 10 then you cannot use the tool I referenced to update the database. For Windows 10 use one that is here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sq...-management-studio-ssms?view=sql-server-ver15

Do NOT install SQL server or you will break your VIDA.
Hi Zjev - I'm a little confused as to the steps for Win10. I've got my old 2014D disc and a new laptop. Originally I was planning on setting up a VM with Win7, but then saw another VM with Win10, vs installing directly. Not sure which way to go.

For your 2016+ fix, does it matter what version of SSMS I install? Anything special for V60 (instead of S60)?
https://sqlserverbuilds.blogspot.com/2018/01/sql-server-management-studio-ssms.html

I found RickHaleParker's thread "INTALLING VIDA 2014D FOR THE FIRST TIME WINDOWS 10 HOME" https://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=84636 & https://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=83834&start=50

Seems the repack and 2099 patch fixed the timeout issues?

And a monster thread for Vida2014D on Win10 Pro -https://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?242441-Volvo-VIDA-2014D-and-Windows-10-Pro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Works! In the table VINDecodeModel change rows with ID: -2042382989, -2042382987, -2042382983, and -2038064559
YearCode should be changed to J and it reads the car as S60 MY2015.
@zjev, i cannot send you privet messages at this time, can you send me one please, I'd like ask you to check my VIN number of V60 MY2017.
Coffee on me of course.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Also, if you have Windows 10 then you cannot use the tool I referenced to update the database. For Windows 10 use one that is here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sq...-management-studio-ssms?view=sql-server-ver15

Do NOT install SQL server or you will break your VIDA.
Hi Zjev - I'm a little confused as to the steps for Win10. I've got my old 2014D disc and a new laptop. Originally I was planning on setting up a VM with Win7, but then saw another VM with Win10, vs installing directly. Not sure which way to go.

For your 2016+ fix, does it matter what version of SSMS I install? Anything special for V60 (instead of S60)?
https://sqlserverbuilds.blogspot.com/2018/01/sql-server-management-studio-ssms.html

I found RickHaleParker's thread "INTALLING VIDA 2014D FOR THE FIRST TIME WINDOWS 10 HOME" https://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=84636 & https://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=83834&start=50

Seems the repack and 2099 patch fixed the timeout issues?

And a monster thread for Vida2014D on Win10 Pro -https://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?242441-Volvo-VIDA-2014D-and-Windows-10-Pro
Askulte,

I would just use a VM if i was you. Installing VIDA is PITA and if you have it in a VM you can save it, made the changes and if something goes wrong you can always load the last saved state.

The new version of SSMS won't let you edit the database on Win 7. So you have to use the old version for Win 7 and the new one for Win 10.
The management studios are more or less identical for what you need to do in them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
zjev, Roxana's VM worked fantastic - thanks. It now has a Win10 version. I downloaded SSMS 18.4, copied it onto the VM by adding a shared drive, installed SSMS, and followed your instructions (VIN was within range for our 2016 V60, and I changed the 2015 Year Code from F to G). VIDA took the VIN (when I changed to the AME partner group).

Crossing my fingers it works when I try connecting with DICE tonight!

Thanks for making & sharing this tutorial.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
zjev, Roxana's VM worked fantastic - thanks. It now has a Win10 version. I downloaded SSMS 18.4, copied it onto the VM by adding a shared drive, installed SSMS, and followed your instructions (VIN was within range for our 2016 V60, and I changed the 2015 Year Code from F to G). VIDA took the VIN (when I changed to the AME partner group).

Crossing my fingers it works when I try connecting with DICE tonight!

Thanks for making & sharing this tutorial.
How did it go with DICE?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Hi all!

I cant save the database, it just want o create a new SQL file... What am i doing wrong?
Sorry, I missed your message...

You want to just edit the database. Once you edit it the changes are saved right away. It's a bit different than let's say editing MS Word file.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Thank you for this; a very clear and useful addition to the collective knowledge base for volvo owners.
 
1 - 20 of 68 Posts
Top