SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As title says, im looking to make a bootable microSD card with a virtual machine for dice. I know its possible to use a usb drive but has anyone succeeded in doing it on a microSD?

Im looking at building an in car dice setup that doesnt require me to carry a laptop around....if all goes well i should be able to offer them to anyone interested.

·
Registered
929 Posts
As title says, im looking to make a bootable microSD card with a virtual machine for dice. I know its possible to use a usb drive but has anyone succeeded in doing it on a microSD?

Im looking at building an in car dice setup that doesnt require me to carry a laptop around....if all goes well i should be able to offer them to anyone interested.
I’m not a SW expert but I use SD card as a USB stick all the time. Are you intending to run it on Win CE platform?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Need more info. What are you looking to boot with it?
Planning on an android head unit. Reason for microSD/sd card is because it only has 2 usb slots available and im not sure they are full duplex, and one of them i will most likely need for an external mouse/keyboard. Not sure hiw well a usb hub will work either, may not recognize it. But, the unit does have an sd slot that is used for either external storage or for the gps software.

If i go us drive id need a total of 3 open ports. With micro sd i should be able just to plug in a wireless desktop setup and the dice unit. Bam! Done.

From what i understand about these units they are android laid over winCE. having a live boot/VMware setup on the sd card should make it work. Key word is *should* lol

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
All depends on the BIOS. If you can boot directly off the SD card reader, you're good. Windows doesn't give a **** what it's loaded on.

If not you can try getting a USB hub so you have more than the two ports.