SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, newbie here who post for the first time. I bought a 2004 S60R 6speed about 2 months ago with 130000miles. Did lots of maintenance to the car including new tires, suspension and timing belt. When i drive the car i feel constantly a vibration in the seats and floor but not in the steering wheel, starts at about 30mph till 80+mph. With increasing speed the vibration increases in intensity but not that bad that it shakes me out of the car. It seems that the vibration comes from the front but I checked everything and cant find anything wrong which I think could cause this. Tires and rims are 100% round, straight and true and wheel bearings feel good and don't make any noise. The only noise i can hear, with the window open, is when i make a sharp right turn i hear some grinding, sure the grinding is not caused by the tires hitting the inside fender because i installed new steering stops and know how that sounds. It almost seems that the vibration is worse when it is colder outside and less noticeable with higher outside temperatures, but still clearly noticeable when it is warm out. Also took the propeller shaft out and drove the car without, the vibration is still there. I really love this Volvo and besides the vibration it runs great! Does anyone have any idea what could cause the vibration and what my next step should be? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
4,563 Posts
Really sounds like one of you rear tires out out of balance.
I know you said tires are "100% round, straight and true" but I'd try moving the rear tires to the front to see if it changes the vibration at all. It would be pretty easy to swap them so it couldn't hurt.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·