SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Volvo Officianades,

I need some help !

Being a long admirer of Volvo performance cars I have been dreaming of having one for many years. This week one came up and I need some help as to whether or not I should be buying it or not.

It is a 1999 V70R AWD Laser Blue Automatic. It is a Phase 3 and has good ownership (nice guy who has owned if for a while) a full service history and 90k on the clock.

I am reading horror stories about the gearbox and AWD system, which is currently giving me a real problem. Had I not known of them I would not have thought twice.

My questions are:

1. Are all the gearboxes on the Phase 3 AWD V70R destined to fail ?

2. I have read somewhere that you should flush the gearbox atleast once a year and in some cases twice a year. Is this really necessary to get any life out of it as I have read that some places charge around 200 pounds for it.

3. I have no other concerns should I be checking anything else?

4. Are there a number of routine steps I can take to check the car for possible gearbox issues in order to eliminate the issue of buying a car with potential gearbox issues?

Plus any other advice you are willing to give. The cost of the car is 3200 pounds. Help is required asap as I have until Tuesday to decide.

·
Banned
63,535 Posts
It is a 1999 V70R AWD Laser Blue Automatic. It is a Phase 3 and has good ownership

NO PHASE 3 IN THE US.
F IT HAS THE 5 SPEED TRANSMISSION IT'S A 2000 (BUILT IN THE FALL OF 1999) TO THE REST OF THE WORLD.
YOU NEGLECTED TO MENTION THE MILEAGE

I am reading horror stories about the gearbox and AWD system, which is currently giving me a real problem.

PORTIONS OF THE AWD SYSTEM HAS TO BE REPLACED PERIODICALLY, EVERY 100K MILES OR SO, (PROPSHAFT, RESEALING THE BEVEL GEAR)

1. Are all the gearboxes on the Phase 3 AWD V70R destined to fail ?