SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got an 08 V70 T6 - I know its a bit of an oddity, but, hey, that's the Aussie market for ya! Its just been diagnosed with an iffy rear diff, which is a bit annoying as its not quite 8 years old, and only has 130,000km on the clock. The rumbling/droning/whining noise I took to be a wheel bearing was confirmed as the diff by getting up on a ramp and giving the propshaft a good wiggle and jiggle, and there's a bit of free play, certainly more than there should be.

What I'm trying to find out is if this is a common occurrance on these cars. I'm a bit new to Volvo, and was kind of expecting a bit more than 130Kkm from something like this. I think the car has been used for towing, by the first owner - the second, whom I bought it from, was adamant he hadn't towed - but that was 80,000km and five years ago.

Regardless, I've still got to source a replacement, which will be a bit of fun, no doubt! Can't use the XC70T6 diff as its a different ratio, and i'm not sure what Euro markets got this model. There aren't many in Aus.

Any thoughts, pointers, ideas welcome!

·
Super Moderator
3,780 Posts
First time I've heard of a problem with one. Remember, most of the torque goes to the front wheels, even with the AWD.

·
Registered
99 Posts
I'm not too familiar w/ the specifics on this model although before I replaced the Rear Diff, I'd drain the fluid through a paint filter, look it over well and if the drain plug has a magnet attached, look for debris. Check the R&P for galling, blue coloring and sharp edges to determine if there's an issue.
Good luck,
Motoretro

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
First time I've heard of a problem with one. Remember, most of the torque goes to the front wheels, even with the AWD.