SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the market for V50. Would love to get some feedback on the 05-06 models, vs the later. There is a glut of early models for sale, but pickings seem to get slim when you get to 2007 and beyond. Was the stereo better on the 2007 model (auxiliary or bluetooth?). Also did the increase in power come in 07 or 08?
Throw out any advice you can for me please. Im very new to the Volvo scene.

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
07+ models get an auxiliary input at the back of the waterfall. 08 models get the facelift and power increase (218 to 227 hp), and some other optional features (blind spot monitoring, power folding mirrors, active xenon lights).

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
If you find a much better price for an 05-07 then go for it. they are getting very affordable now. If you can live without the aux jack then get 08+.
If the early exterior trim seems a little dated to you, the newer ones look much nice. But as far as reliability, you'll be fine either way. The only real differences i can think of is the exterior trim/bumpers and the LCA balljoint size, otherwise most things will be interchangeable, and even though some motor mounts, and the ignition switch were updated for 08, they can still be fit to pre-facelift models. Just consider the 08+ for what it is... mostly a facelift. Any year with decent service records and history will be reliable. Hp difference is negligible, you wont feel it.

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
If you find a much better price for an 05-07 then go for it. they are getting very affordable now. If you can live without the aux jack then get 08+.