SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Hope that everyone is well and safe.
Somehow (long story) I got a V50 D5 2006. I own it for 3 weeks and the first 10 days i had no chance to get out of city. Later on i drove out of city and i saw that it wont go over 120kmh and even to 120kmh it struggled too much. While in hills (normal ones - 5-6%), it struggled too much and wont go over 80-90kmh.
I was at a particular volvo service to check it out and everyone there was so surprised to hear that because the car starts perfectly. On VIDA nothing shows up. No errors!
We checked injectors and to be sure we changed the third one because it seemed a little bit noisy. Also, previously was changed the swirl flap and its electromotor. Checked the DPF and it is perfectly clean. Also, only some days ago we changed oil and all filters - all Volvo originals.
We are struggling to find the reason why this happening and can't find any, so my last hope is this forum. Hope that someone would know something and would point me somewhere :)
Thank you in advance
 

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
732 Posts
Does the exhaust smoke when the engine struggles?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
732 Posts
Do you have a OBD scanner like a ELM327 by any chance?

If you have one, connect it to the car and try to see of you can read the boost pressure while driving. And if you don’t, maybe a boost gauge?

Because it sounds like the engine is not making any boost.

This doesn’t necessarily mean the turbo is broken.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@Facusan I don't have one but I have just ordered one and tomorrow I will have it. I will come back with results.
Thank you for your help!
 

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
732 Posts
You’re welcome!

Also, have you checked for loose hose clamps on the intake piping?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I have not, but the service guy checked "somehow". Anyway, I will check for loose hose too. If you have any image of what too look for exactly, will be perfect. Anyway, I will try to check out every hose possible :)
Thank you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
226 Posts
At the left side of the engine, do you have like an little plastic arm? (I will post a pic later).
Ive had my previous volvo problem with that plastic arm that opens and closes swirl flaps. Plastic arm by aging gets looser on the ball joints and falls off.
But weird that you dont have any error codes. Is the engine chiptuned?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
226 Posts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
At the left side of the engine, do you have like an little plastic arm? (I will post a pic later).
Ive had my previous volvo problem with that plastic arm that opens and closes swirl flaps. Plastic arm by aging gets looser on the ball joints and falls off.
But weird that you dont have any error codes. Is the engine chiptuned?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you for your reply and pic. I have changed that plastic arm when i changed the electromotor and the swirl flaps. Nope, the engine was not chiptuned. That the biggest myster...no error codes at all :oops:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Also, i have captured some screenshoots while obd2 connected and car running.
113679
113680
113681
113682


What I observed is that when the car was running with 120kmh the throttle possition tends to get low, as in the last image. I don't know of it is normal. Also, I have to mention that all screenshoots are when the car was running at its limits (110kmh - 120kmh).
Also, I have observed a small fluctuation on rpm while 100+kmh and fixed acceleration pedal.
Thank you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I have just made a drive of a couple of km now and connected the obd2 where i saw a fault code as follow:

Code:
P2080
Raw code: 2080
ECU: 10
Status: Pending fault present, Pending fault present during this driving cycle, Test conditions are met, Test is inhibited by other DTC, Test has not been completed, Validated and stored in non volatile memory, Validated fault present at time of request, Validated fault has been present during this drive cycle
OBDII: Exhaust gas temperature (EGT) sensor 1, bank 1 - range/performance problem
May this one be a reason of my problems?
Thank you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Getting back to this thread since i found the issue and resolved it.
After we tried everything possible, our last chance was to check out the ECU software. We saw that it had the last update but, anyway, we decided to reapply that update again...and...voila...an error appeared: flowmeter error.
Decied to change it with a brand new one for testing, because we tried this 2-3 times before and no success. After a short ride, got back to the service and connected again to VIDA where the flowmeter error was there again. After a short thinking, one of the guys from the service thought that this type of error may come also from an air sensor on the radiator, left side. To get it out they had to put down the whole front of the car. After they changed that small sensor I got out on a small drive where ... voila again ... the car runs perfectly without any stress up to 238kmh :_: . What a joy.
Anyway, I got back to the service to put my old flowmeter back and see if anything changes. Nothing changes. The car runs perfectly with that old flowmeter too, and no error are shown now.

I want to thank everyone that tried to help me and hope that my small experience with this V50 will be helpful for anyone else that may be facing the same problems.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,305 Posts
This "air sensor" - any other information on what kind of sensor? Is it the intake temperature/pressure sensor perhaps? That part has been problematic on the T5's as well,

Congrats on the fix!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
226 Posts
I believe its MAP sensor, no?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,305 Posts
On the T5 it's a combination IAT/MAP sensor. But on the D5 I'm not sure and the OP indicates it's on the left (opposite the T5 location) so that's why I ask.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top