SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I am new to the world of volvo but am excited to join your ranks. I'm having a really difficult time figuring out which route to go. I am torn between three cars. Here's what I like and don't about them:

Volvo S60 T6: 300 ponies in less expensive package. Biggest "bang for buck," I think. There are a good many of them around so I can get a good deal. I am not in love with the sedan style (a little to "buzz cut" proper for my taste, though I really do like the looks). Really fast, and I could put on winter tires for the white stuff. Great mileage for the power at 35 highway.

Volvo V60 T5: Only comes in 240 HP (no T6) and much less fun to drive, but I think the V wagons in black with nice wheels look downright sexy. I don't have a specific need for the space, but I like the practicality and the looks. Great highway mileage at 37mpg.

V60 R-Design. The fun car, with 325HP and 350lb+ torque. AWD which would be great a few times a year (I live in Chicago and drive into cold weather climiates), though the mileage is SIGNIFICANTLY worse at 28mpg. Not sure how much that matters given the lower gas cost over the next few years. The car is an absolute hoot to drive and has the good looks of the wagon plus what I believe to be the best seats in the industry. This comes at a +4k premium on whats already a pricey car though, and a deal will be much harder to come by.

Now, I know this is Sweed SPEED and the RD is going to get the nod, but I am really open to other considerations outside of just fun factor!

Thanks again!

·
Registered
838 Posts
I think you should go with what your heart and mind tells you.... If you can swing the AWD V60R, I would go with that. I'm sure you'll appreciate the AWD living in Chicago. Put a good set of snow tires and have fun.... You do only live once...

·
Registered
6,041 Posts