SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie so appologies up front if I miss something. I just bought a 03' Sliver S60 AWD with 35K . I was out running it through the gears last weekend and when I was in Geartronic mode the transmission would slip under heavy acceration from 2nd to 3rd. The Tach would drop from 4500 rpm to about 1500rpm and slam into 3rd very hard. Any thoughts? I brought it into the local dealer. They are puzzled!

·
Super Moderator
14,845 Posts
Re: Tranny slippling between 2nd and 3rd (djphattyapolis)

Quote, originally posted by djphattyapolis »
I brought it into the local dealer. They are puzzled!

If they seem incompetent, go to another dealer, but that should be warranty covered.

have you demonstrated the issue to them?

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
Re: Tranny slippling between 2nd and 3rd (djphattyapolis)

search the archives with "geartronic shift flare"

There are basically three known fixes depending on the tranny: software, B4 valve cover or valve body (control system). Get it fixed while on warranty.

·
Registered
492 Posts
Re: Tranny slippling between 2nd and 3rd (Mika)

search it's a $15 part and you could install in 15 minutes or pay the dealer $45 like my lazy butt did. It's a valve sensor of sorts that you are after.

All of you, try this cheap fix for MY 00 and newer
Look at and/or replace the piston servo
PN 30751262 This is a 12.00 part and takes 5 minutes to replace. (side of transmission)
A KNOWN problem with AsianWarner transmissions. They have already gone through 3 different designs of this part.
My service manager said he can't believe how many were fixed using this very cheap fix

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
Re: Tranny slippling between 2nd and 3rd (fredmc)