SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm looking to tow something 4,500lbs and i need a vehicle to do it. i am a master volvo tech and i've been working at the dealer for 10 years, i know these cars inside and out so naturally a volvo is my first choice. i'm a RWD guy, i have a high horsepower 740 that i race, and i know the new cars in stock form very well but i've never had any experience towing with an xc90.

as a volvo tech i would only buy a 2.5t xc90, working on these all day long i know what's best. all models (except fwd) are rated to tow ~4900lbs with trailer brakes and i just upgraded my trailer to disc brakes with all new components.

does anybody regularly tow something over 4000lbs with their xc90? i don't think it will struggle too hard pulling the boat up a steep ramp as long as i keep the awd in good order.

i'm trying to make sure it's not going to be too much of a stuggle because i have to snatch one of these things from a trade-in, probably without a hitch and i have to buy right away without any way to test the hauling abilities.

i don't want to end up with a great xc90 that still won't tow my boat.

·
Registered
4,017 Posts
it also depends on the ramp angle, but i have seen people towing the boat and trailer for about 4000 lbs. In some website says xc90 2.5T tow limit is 4999, some others 4000. Send a PM to Mr. P i know he tow a boat.

·
Registered
2021 Volvo S60 T5 AWD
7,283 Posts
Mr P towed a pretty big and heavy boat with his 2.5T AWD. He's posted pictures somewhere.

I think dmd towed/tows a similar load.

I towed a pair of wave runners with my 04 XC90 2.5T and 07 XC70 ages ago.

·
Registered
1,329 Posts