SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I went to look at a 2000 V70 xc yesterday. He's asking 2500 for it and its got 180k on it. Everything looked good and solid. I've heard to avoid the cars at all costs if they have uneven tire wear because it messes with the AWD. The front tires on this car had extreme outer tire wear but it looks like it's due to positive camber, so I'm hoping it just needs an alignment. Any input? I'm a broke college student so please don't tell me to get a newer or lower mileage model, I'd love to but this is what I can afford and am looking at right now. Thanks

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
It's not worth $2500... Probably needs LCAs, Tie rods, and strut mounts like every other P80 car at that mileage.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Look for a standard V70. 20% better fuel economy (my V70 got 24-25 and my XC gets barely 20 mpg) and a lot less parts to wear out, no turbocharger, 15" tires are less expensive to buy, and you're lugging a couple hundred less pounds.

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
Look for a standard V70. 20% better fuel economy (my V70 got 24-25 and my XC gets barely 20 mpg) and a lot less parts to wear out, no turbocharger, 15" tires are less expensive to buy, and you're lugging a couple hundred less pounds.
The XC has 15" wheels stock. Also, the turbocharger makes the car much better and the maintenance on a LPT car is almost identical to a N/A car. You can get 24 out of an XC easily--by pulling the driveshaft. A 98-00 XC has more torque all of the time, a locking rear diff, no crap 5 speed auto in 2000 and ground clearance.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·