SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an Uber/Lyft driver part time. I have a 2012 XC60 T6 AWD with the standard 235/60/18 tires. I drive about 35,000 miles/year. My car currently has 170,000 miles.

When I got my car, it came with Hankook Dynapro HP2s, which were fine until it rained. Nearly crashed 3 times due to their horrible wet traction. Once they were worn out, I went for the Sumitomo HTR A/S P02. At $108/each with a 65k treadlife warranty, they were a steal. Gas mileage improved by about 2 MPG (A huge boon for Uber drivers) dry handling improved and they're completely unfazed by wet roads. Even ride quality improved. The only complaint about them is that they're SO. DAMN. NOISY. Also, at 40,000 miles, I've been refused a rotation due to low remaining tread. Well short of the warranty and they're gone. I will not be getting these again.

Therefore I need a new set. Reading reviews is pretty useless, as they all contradict each other and I don't want to make an expensive bad decision. Michelins are supposed to be great, but seem to suffer from early wear issues. Read the same about Bridgestone. The last thing I want is a tire that's twice as expensive but only lasts half as long.

I want a tire that performs as well as the HTRs, but lasts a bit longer and is quieter. Preferably something that doesn't cost $1000 per set, though I am NOT averse to paying for quality.

All that in mind, what thoughts/experiences/advice might you have for someone with serious anxiety and poor decision making?

·
Registered
77 Posts
I just got Continental Premium Contact 6 in 235/60/18 and I love them. Great wet and dry grip, long life as they suggest is expected.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2018 XC60 D5 Inscription w. Polestar tune
2011 XC60 D5 Summum

·
Registered
13,451 Posts