SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I've been doing my homework (using the Google search and investigating Tirerack, etc.), but am still having trouble narrowing down the options and have some questions about tires as most of the threads/recommendations I've found have been for R/Ultra High Performance Tires, which I don't think I need.

About me and my driving:
I am an average driver (not a performance driver) with mixed driving needs (highway commute, in-town stop-and-go, short/frequent errand trips, long distance drive trips).

While it doesn't snow here, we can get frost and ice on the roads in the winter. And, unless we are in a dry year/drought, the winters are usually wet. So, I am thinking an All-Season/Four Season tire would be good.

Ideally, I'd also like a tire that both looks good and has good durability/longevity.

-----

About my wagon and tires:
It is a 2004 V70 2.5T with ~38,000 miles and Pirelli P6 Four Seasons Tires, P 235/45R17 94V M+S.
On the passenger's side the tire DOT date codes are 2204; on the driver's side the DOT date codes are 1904.

For the past couple months, the front passenger tire has had trouble maintaining air pressure despite regular checks and adding air (optimal is listed as 32 psi, and lately it has been ~27 psi). When checking the tire air pressure today, however, it was ~20 psi and this tire now has very noticeable cracking in the sidewall near the tread. The car's service history prior to my purchase indicates that there was a flat tire repair back in 2006 and I'm wondering if this is the same tire...

-----

My question, would you recommend that I:
1. Replace the two front tires with new Pirelli P6 Four Seasons