SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 2015 V60CC with 108,000 miles on it. Love the car and the fact that it has the T5 engine. Before this, I had a 2009 S40 2.4i which I also liked and did a bunch of work on. In particular, the timing belt skipped at around 85k miles and I had to replace the head. So I've got some experience in this realm.

As this car has 108,000 miles on it and no paperwork indicating that the timing belt has been replaced, I am going to do that ASAP. I did the timing belt on the 2.4i engine, which is very similar to the T5 engine on the S40 (at least for the timing belt). I haven't found a good writeup for the T5 engine in the V60 (or S60) by searching this forum. I might just be missing it, though. Anyone care to point me in the right direction or confirm that the process is similar to older T5 engines?

I will also replace the drive belts and serpentine tensioner as well while I'm in there.

Suggestions for other preventative maintenance while I've got the stuff apart near the timing belt?

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
I can look up the procedure in VIDA and post later, but I think it's the same as other T5 engines.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can look up the procedure in VIDA and post later, but I think it's the same as other T5 engines.
Thanks for the reply! I actually have access to the VIDA instructions too, I just find them to be somewhat basic and vague sometimes (or use special tools that aren't really required).

Good to hear that it is likely going to be the same as other T5 engines though, that would make things pretty easy.

·
Registered
1,075 Posts
I will also replace the drive belts and serpentine tensioner as well while I'm in there.

Suggestions for other preventative maintenance while I've got the stuff apart near the timing belt?