SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hope everyone is doing swimmingly today. I'm new to the forum and writing because I need some help.
I bough a 2004 VR M66 with 188k two weeks ago. I am expecting to have to do some work on the car and that is becoming true very quick. I've prioritized the following two items give my experience thus far.

1) PVC & oil leak.
I took the car out four nights ago for some spirited driving; I did two hard pulls after the car was warm. I pulled back into the garage and smelled burning oil when I opened the door after parking. The following morning, there was oil on the floor of the garage in a seemingly random drip pattern. About six spots ranging in size from a quarter to the size of a coffee mug. Opened the hood and the dip stick was popped out a 1/2". Because i'm still learning the car, I simply assumed I must not have pushed the dip stick all the way back in when checking the oil the night previously; I cleaned up the oil and continued on with my business. Last night, I did one 2nd gear pull on my way home from work, same smell, same oil on the garage floor this morning, dip stick popped 1/2" out. I crawl under the car and it looks like the oil is dripping from transmission area, but not the transmission itself.
Is this oil possibly coming from the turbo?
When I don't drive the car hard, no oil drips onto the garage floor. Is it possible I only have a leak during a hard pull when pressure is at it's highest?
After reading, my belief is I need to replace the entire PVC system. Is this correct? Who has the best kit, FCP Euro?
If I replace the whole system, what else should I do "while i'm in there?" or what seals can I access/should I check on the front of the engine?

2) Transmission whine: