SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to hybrid cars, love my XC 60 (2018).
I want to optimize my mileage and would love any feedback about my driving...

My route is about 90 miles, from 5000 feet down to the valley. I cross several mountain ranges, so there is a down, up a little again, down... down and up a little and down...

Of course, the return home is the opposite... up, up, up, down a bit, up, down up, up, etc...

I drive hybrid, B mode, until the battery gets to about 1-3. (BTW is the KwH?). I use the engine to charge battery when I am driving up, and release it when I am on a down...

For the trip down the mountain, i can arrive at the valley with battery at 5 or so...

On the return home I do the same, but usually the battery is a bit more, because there is so much up in the drive.

My total mileage is about 38 down th mountain, and 30 back up.

Should I be doing anything different to improve my mileage? For those who are curious, I live in Payson, in the mountains above Phoenix, and drive down to Phoenix at least once a week or so...

·
Registered
6,918 Posts
I am new to hybrid cars, love my XC 60 (2018).
I want to optimize my mileage and would love any feedback about my driving...

My route is about 90 miles, from 5000 feet down to the valley. I cross several mountain ranges, so there is a down, up a little again, down... down and up a little and down...

Of course, the return home is the opposite... up, up, up, down a bit, up, down up, up, etc...

I drive hybrid, B mode, until the battery gets to about 1-3. (BTW is the KwH?). I use the engine to charge battery when I am driving up, and release it when I am on a down...

For the trip down the mountain, i can arrive at the valley with battery at 5 or so...

On the return home I do the same, but usually the battery is a bit more, because there is so much up in the drive.