SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody!
Newbie here looking for a weekender C70 to enjoy and was wondering about the longevity of the engine given correct routine maintenance.
I'm not afraid of "high mileage" units as in the past I've had Jags, Rover 2000TC, numerous Alfas, Renault Gordini, UrS4 all with high miles; highest of which was the Audi and that indestructible 5 cylinder AAN engine which I sold to tuner in Phoenix who drove all the way to the Coachella Valley to purchase it. When sold it had 355,000 miles on it and was running like a top! He called me when he got home to marvel at what he'd just bought, and was going to turn it into his "vette killer".

Anyway, so what is the highest mileage C70 anybody has heard of? I'm looking at one with around 200,000 on it! How long does the turbo typically last? Is the turbo well designed as far as cooling it goes?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

·
Registered
153 Posts
They changed the forum interface. It was hard to find the reply button.

Mine has 114,000 didn't have any engine problems.

It's missing a ceramic washer for the turbo that know one seems to know how to reorder or replace.

Cold starts in first gear doesn't feel right or snappy or the pedal response lags a lot compared to new.

Still dealing with an electric issue in the right headlight.

·
Registered
823 Posts
140k and counting, no major issues <knock wood>

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i AW55-50 / 2007 C70 T5 AW55-50
421 Posts
As long the engine has good maintenance I don't see why it won't go past 300k miles or even more. I've seen a few S40's with 300k+ for sale and still going strong.

AFAIK These engines don't like:

-Being overheated. Seriously!, if a radiator hose bursts while driving, you have 95% probability of having to replace the head gasket as well.

-Non genuine or non OEM spark plugs. cheap aftermarket spark plugs not recommended!