SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1997 volvo 850 Fwd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have to replace my subframe and before I just start taking **** off I would like to have a plan and procure the required tools if there is any special tools needed for the job. Before making this post I searched the forum to see if there were any subframe removal threads on my year (1997) 850. Now I know there is some interchangeability on some of these models but as I am new to the swede scene, I am equally ignorant. So in short was wondering what would be the best course of action ? Tools needed? Tips? Any helpful info is appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
17,311 Posts
Engine support bar. Nothing else special really.

·
Registered
818 Posts
The engine support (from above) is pretty much it.The rest is just turning wrenches.
The SF main bolts are on TIGHT (and should also be replaced), so plan for that.

I've done it leaving the steering rack in the car and also dropping rack with the SF. If you don't need to mess with the rack at all, and the mounting fasteners come loose w/o issue (I've had the mounting studs in the rack start to spin, which are hard to deal with while in the car) that'll save you some hassle of messing with the steering u-joint coupler (which can be a pain to deal with) and breaking open the PS fluid system.

·
Registered
1997 volvo 850 Fwd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So if at all possible leave the rack alone. Haha got it. So the engine support bar is one thing I don't have, what is a good place to get one?

·
Registered
818 Posts
It's just extra un-needed work if you remove it.

I picked up one from Harbor Freight a few years back when I did the clutch replacement in my '96 GLT.

There are probably some DIY options as well.

·
Registered
818 Posts

·
Registered
1997 volvo 850 Fwd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·