SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I have a question about the R model since i'm just about to buy one. First though, this is mostly aimed at stock R owners, since i will never tune or build the car for racing. It has a Stage 1 tune in place and that's where i will keep it at for as long as i own the car. I've had turbocharged vehicles before and i'm not interested in tuning them any further than the chip. So while i appreciate any information i can get, people who build their vehicles will obviously have an entirely different view on this than me. I've been driving a two-decade old deadbeat BMW for five years now, and it eats about 2000 dollars a year (some years more) in repairs alone. Meaning i have sunk the price of a second-hand but modern car in five years into manpower and spare parts for the old turd.

So, could any stock R owner estimate the annual maintenance budget for their cars? Or what it was before you tuned it, if you have done so. My mileage averages around 12k a year, and the car i'm considering has done under 90k so i figure i can get decent life out of it still. In contrast my BMW has done 200k miles, and to get it properly going again i would have to spend another two thousand right on the spot. Might as well get rid of it.

Fuel consumption of the R isn't really a concern, as my 3 litre straight 6 isn't exactly economic either. Repair costs are more important. Recent maintenance done to the R i'm looking at:
- Timing belt and water pump.
- Tires.
- Front brake discs and pads.
- Front shocks.
- Angle gear has been sealed as soon as it started leaking some years ago. No problems since.
- Something with the clutch, maybe the slave cylinder. I haven't yet seen the documents.
- Plus random parts which i've no idea how to translate... Some wheel bearings.