SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well we're gonna do it and dump the Volvo for a Highlander Hybrid.
I really wanted to like this car and there are many things that I do like.

Styling-great looking car, inside and out. Being a wanna be pilot I love the way the dash and center console looks at night. Reminds me of an aircraft cockpit. I have yet to see a better looking mid size SUV

Comfort- Can't beat it for long road trips.

RSE- More manufacturers need to adopt the headrest system that is integrated into the audio system as well as this one.

Things that drove me bonkers

Never ending bumps from the suspension/subframe. I think this is a design flaw and can never be truly solved. Most of you never drive on anything but asphalt so you will never experience it. No near 50K car should sound like a 72 Dodge Dart over moderately rough roads.
It's getting worse as time goes by. Beginning to sound like the subframe with engine and tranny is about to fall out. Dealer cannot duplicate because they won't test drive over a dirt washboard road.

Having to dodge the door every time I get in and out of it. How many of you have whacked your chin with the door? Come on admit it

The inabilty to program the door locks to my liking. I had the dealer do it for 30 bucks and I should have left it alone. Now they lock everytime I get in and out to open the gate at the house and If get out without unlocking all the doors I have to get back in and unlock them so I can get my daughter out of the back. When you do this, the first time you hit the button it will relock instead of unlocking. Good way to lock the keys in! The whole scheme is just screwy

The antiroll control is just a gimmick. If you run off the road and jerk the wheel you're still going to flip it.