SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am new to Swedespeed so forgive me if this is in the wrong forum or anything else. I don't know much about cars and figured this would be a good place to come for some advice.

I am 21 years old and getting ready to graduate college. My parents bought me my 2000 S70 for my 16th birthday and I love the car. It is dark blue with a dark gray leather interior, pretty rosewood inlay and nice heated seats! I am very sentimental about it and all the memories I've had (and had hoped to make in the future) with it. I have driven it from the Pacific NW down to Georgia where I am now, to Florida, New Orleans, Charleston....so many good memories. It has 182k miles on it and the interior/exterior are perfect.

A little over a year ago, I noticed that occasionally, when I went up a hill or accelerated to get on the highway, the transmission (automatic) would have some hard shifts that scared me. It would also "zoom" forward (sorry, don't know the technical term) when this happened. The shop basically told me that the transmission was on its way out and to just keep driving the car.

A few weeks ago, I took it in to the shop because the air dam plopped off (I hit a parking berm a little roughly, oops) and mentioned that the hard shifts had been getting harder and more frequent. The owner took it out for a test drive and when he came back, told me to start looking for a new car because the transmission was going to croak any day. He didn't even want to take my money for an oil change.