SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,442 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly, this just had to happen a few days out from a big road trip :/

I was taking a corner in second gear on full boost, (driving hard) TRC light flashing then BANG! engine suddenly revved to redline.
Stopped car, inspect, nothing. Start car, full boost still alive but now a grinding/rubbing sound can be heard from under car. :(
I still have full mechanical operation, power and gear usage.

Any ideas ?

·
Registered
313 Posts
Did you lose AWD? Sounds like you may have slipped the front wheels and transfered all torgue to the rear and broke the driveshaft or transfer case (do these have a transfer case). That would explain the sudden rev to redline.

Im not sure how the AWD in these cars works. I stay away from it. But I used to be a driveline engineer on AWD trucks and SUVs. It was possible under hard driving to transfer all the torgue to the front or rear and blow **** up. Usually happened on ice or in loose gravel/sand.

·
Registered
7,367 Posts
Losing the load from the rear wheels while having no traction on the front would cause a sudden rev to red line like that, and material floating in the fluid in the VC could make some noise.

Edit: Removed bad info. Some of it anyway.

·
Registered
2,582 Posts
They say to find a good loose surface (all that beach sand?) and nail it and look for slippage to determine whether you have any torque transfer to the back.

·
Registered
2,582 Posts
How much power are you putting out now? Non-modded AWD cars never need to worry about the angle gear, but the Rs do. I wonder....

·
Registered
4,442 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Need specifics to when the noise happens. While turning / moving or also when just sitting at idle?
nothing at idle.
I can only hear it when driving, it gets louder on throttle and you can hear it winding down off throttle.