SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im currently about to undertake swapping motor, ecu and harness into my 2.4 non turbo. I have a 5 speed manual tranny from my current engine in now, Can i use this trans for the t5 or is the t5 transmission a different unit to handle more power? Thank you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,612 Posts
The torque numbers aren't hugely different on those motors, I'm pretty sure they're the same tranny. If nobody else knows for sure, I can cross reference the part number on my '01 T5M V70 tonight when I get home.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,945 Posts
You will need the wireharness from the T5 along with a custome Tuned ecu for it even to start. <p>Have fun <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,537 Posts
Re: (Chilled Man)

Not many people have done what you're about to do. So we'd love to see pictures and let us know how it turns out.<BR><BR>
<i>Modified by cmurphy2266 at 10:30 PM 7-13-2009</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,486 Posts
Re: s60 2.4 non turbo to T5 turbo... (no6thgear)

You need the old vin burned in the t5 ecu, or you need every single computer (including rearview mirror) from the t5.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,999 Posts
N/A has the M56H<br>T5 has the M56L<p>I'm going to be getting an M56H put in my car anytime now... <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/rolleyes.gif" BORDER="0"> If I understand the "final drive" ratio correctly, gear ratios are a bit taller in the low gears in the L, and a bit taller in the high gears in the H. I think I prefer the L setup to be honest...<p>(Hmm... Did I get the tall/short mixed up? I really can't wrap my head around the way that's defined...)<p><A HREF="http://new.volvocars.com/ownersdocs/2002/2002_S60/02s60_12.htm" TARGET="_blank">From owner's manual:</A><p><IMG SRC="http://lh4.ggpht.com/_eE0yNOema1A/Slvx5irK8XI/AAAAAAAAA-w/3CrHY2ZL_Cc/s800/Fullscreen%20capture%207132009%20104712%20PM.jpg" BORDER="0"><BR><BR>
<i>Modified by StarmanDXE at 11:00 PM 7-13-2009</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
416 Posts
how would he go about burning the old vin into the new ecu? <p>This is a very interesting topic....keep posting on your progress
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,945 Posts
Re: s60 2.4 non turbo to T5 turbo... (Mika)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>Mika</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">You need the old vin burned in the t5 ecu, or you need every single computer (including rearview mirror) from the t5. </TD></TR></TABLE><p>No he will need a Custom Tune From MTE <p>using the old ecu wont work since it will be from a auto you will still need to retune for the manual . <p>Ask me how i know <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,945 Posts
Re: (cmurphy2266)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>cmurphy2266</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Not many people have done what you're about to do. So we'd love to see pictures and let us know how it turns out.<p><br><i>Modified by cmurphy2266 at 10:30 PM 7-13-2009</i></TD></TR></TABLE><p>Its more of 1 or 2 people have done what he has done if that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,486 Posts
Re: s60 2.4 non turbo to T5 turbo... (Chilled Man)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>Chilled Man</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote"><p>No he will need a Custom Tune From MTE <p>using the old ecu wont work since it will be from a auto you will still need to retune for the manual . <p>Ask me how i know <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> </TD></TR></TABLE><p>Isn't that what I said? (or maybe I just thought it) <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/smile.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>He needs the T5 ECU with custom tune and with the old VIN for the alarm system to see, otherwise it won't start. But I'm almost 100% sure it's not enough, even racerken had to swap in all the computers from the T5. <p>It's not as simple as manual swap since the 2.4 has a Denso system and the T5 has ME7.<BR><BR>
<i>Modified by Mika at 9:41 AM 7-14-2009</i>
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top