SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a roof rack for my four-door Amazon to hold a canoe. It would be great if it has a somewhat simple or vintage look to it, but it doesn't have to be one of those original ones.

Anyone have a recommendation?

·
Registered
401 Posts
I've been using Quik-N-Easy racks for canoes on Volvos for ~40 years (Old Town Tripper, H2Pro, BlueHoles).
Indestructible, easily adjustable, still the best thing out there to use with gutters...

And easy to find...e.g. http://www.nrs.com/product/3200/quick-n-easy-car-top-racks-set

AND, I've got an extra unused set, as I always seem to get a second one when I find something that lasts forever...

Michael

·
Registered
101 Posts
I too have used the NRS systems. bolted up some 0.25" thick 1" aluminum square bars. Very sturdy setup.

I have since moved to the elegant and exceedingly expensive classic rack

·
Registered
2,569 Posts
Thule works and lots of different fittings. I have Kayak rather than canoe carriers (and a couple of bike holders).

Durable. Not cheap and definitely not vintage looking.

Carbonmike's classic rack looks spiffy. I would be afraid to use it!

·
Registered
101 Posts
Thule works and lots of different fittings. I have Kayak rather than canoe carriers (and a couple of bike holders).

Durable. Not cheap and definitely not vintage looking.

Carbonmike's classic rack looks spiffy. I would be afraid to use it!
I use the crap out of it. Added a fork mount bike rack, hauls bikes several times per week. I put pipe insulation on the bars and use it to haul lumber and long runs of exhaust pipe.

·
Registered
556 Posts
Guys;