SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to car ownership and also new to posting on this site, so please let me know if I make any mistakes.
To start, I own a 2008 volvo s40 AWD T5. It has ~84000 miles on it. I bought it 2 years ago with 64k miles.

The problem: In the 2 years I've owned the car, I have had the alternator replaced twice, most recently 4 months ago. Yesterday, during my drive home the car displayed the "Power System Service Urgent" red triangle of doom. I continued driving as I was on the highway but close to home. It went off after 2 minutes, but as I exited the highway it came back on followed by ABS lights, battery light, etc. and then flashed to "power steering service". Then power steering went out. Managed to hobble the car into my driveway where it is sitting now. I can turn the car on and it will run fine, with power steering and AC for a few seconds before exhibiting the same symptoms. All signs point to a bad alternator or belt, and this EXACT scenario happened to me 4 months ago which led to getting the alternator replaced for the second time.