SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a s40r owner from Australia and I'm having issues with the accelerator pedal signal sending the car into limp mode. The car is modified and I have a hilton 2+ tune. The car runs fine stock but due to the modifications I've had the rube installed to delete the co2 sensor and gain extra power. Apon flashing the tune everything seemed great at first until the next day when the car was in reduced engine performance. I ran a diagnostic with vida and it indicated the pedal was faulty. Before replacing it I checked the ecm wires and connections and gave them all a clean but unfortunately this did not fix the issue. I took the car to my local volvo specialist and they determined it was a faulty accelerator pedal. It's been replaced now and the car is still going into limp mode. The major issue is that the car is only going into limp mode with the tune installed. When the car is stock it's fine only triggering the co2 sensor but the car will not go into limp mode. As soon as I flash the tune back in the car goes into limp mode and us basically useless. Has anyone experienced anything like this or have any ideas on what to do next? Thanks heaps
Computer Personal computer Output device Laptop Netbook
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
My 07 V50T5 was doing something similar while in a stock configuration. At 90k miles I upgraded everything to support a Shark stage 3 tune including replacing the throttle body with a 70mm Porsche unit. All CELs about the accelerator pedal went away and its been running really well for over 2 years now.
I never replaced the accelerator pedal. I think my issue was with the stock throttle body.
 

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
1,089 Posts
@evy0311 also was/is having some issues with throttle/accelerator pedal. IIRC, the issue was also while using the hilton stage 2 tune

Thread here:

Car revs to redline in neutral when lightly tapping throttle



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,029 Posts
@evy0311 also was/is having some issues with throttle/accelerator pedal. IIRC, the issue was also while using the hilton stage 2 tune

Thread here:

Car revs to redline in neutral when lightly tapping throttle



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I actually replaced my accelerator pedal and am still having the same issue, although I haven’t tried my stock tune


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: Facusan

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
1,089 Posts
I actually replaced my accelerator pedal and am still having the same issue, although I haven’t tried my stock tune


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Let me guess, that’s why you had to replace pedal assembly???

Also, does your tune have a modified throttle pedal mapping?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,029 Posts
Let me guess, that’s why you had to replace pedal assembly???

Also, does your tune have a modified throttle pedal mapping?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I actually replaced it because when replacing the brake pedal assembly, I broke the gas pedal…. Lol.

But it also helps determine if the pedal was my issue.

No clue how the Hilton tune works. I’m on stage 2. I need to try the stock tune to see if that’s the issue although I reached out to rob and he said it shouldn’t be. I trust rob and don’t think the tune is the issue, I have a feeling it’s something with the car itself considering it’s age


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: Facusan

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,279 Posts
I am having intermittent issue throwing the same codes actually since last week, just this morning got "reduced engine performance" again but for me it all goes away after restarting the car. Anwyay - was researching this issue on UK forum and general consensus there is "its never the pedal itself" . Either the connection going into the pedal or outher side, coming into CEM, lots of ppl with this problem had it sorted by cleaning/tihgtening loose connections.
Gonna try that myself during weekend aswell, if nothing helps - then its gonna be pedal replacing test...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,029 Posts
I am having intermittent issue throwing the same codes actually since last week, just this morning got "reduced engine performance" again but for me it all goes away after restarting the car. Anwyay - was researching this issue on UK forum and general consensus there is "its never the pedal itself" . Either the connection going into the pedal or outher side, coming into CEM, lots of ppl with this problem had it sorted by cleaning/tihgtening loose connections.
Gonna try that myself during weekend aswell, if nothing helps - then its gonna be pedal replacing test...
On my previous S40 I replaced the pedal 3 times…. Never fixed the issue.

What finally did it was completely disconnecting the CEM and clearing the connectors on the CEM and the plugs themself. Never had the issue again.

May try that in mine even though I don’t have any sort of codes relating to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: LizardOfBodom

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
My 07 V50T5 was doing something similar while in a stock configuration. At 90k miles I upgraded everything to support a Shark stage 3 tune including replacing the throttle body with a 70mm Porsche unit. All CELs about the accelerator pedal went away and its been running really well for over 2 years now.
I never replaced the accelerator pedal. I think my issue was with the stock throttle body.
I didngive the throttle body a clean while going through the check list to make sure I covered everything. I might have to look into that again. Thanks for the advice
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
@evy0311 also was/is having some issues with throttle/accelerator pedal. IIRC, the issue was also while using the hilton stage 2 tune

Thread here:

Car revs to redline in neutral when lightly tapping throttle



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Have you heard back from hilton?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,029 Posts
Have you heard back from hilton?
I heard back a while ago when I first reached out. His response was that he’d never heard of this happening and recommended I scan for codes.

I’ve scanned with VIDA and nothing so I have a feeling it may be not tune related and likely related to my throttle body or some sort of wiring issue although I’m not sure


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I heard back a while ago when I first reached out. His response was that he’d never heard of this happening and recommended I scan for codes.

I’ve scanned with VIDA and nothing so I have a feeling it may be not tune related and likely related to my throttle body or some sort of wiring issue although I’m not sure


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That was the sane response I've had too.
I heard back a while ago when I first reached out. His response was that he’d never heard of this happening and recommended I scan for codes.

I’ve scanned with VIDA and nothing so I have a feeling it may be not tune related and likely related to my throttle body or some sort of wiring issue although I’m not sure


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's the same response I've had too. This is the third time I've sent files showing it's only happening while tuned
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Let me guess, that’s why you had to replace pedal assembly???

Also, does your tune have a modified throttle pedal mapping?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
All indicators pointed towards the pedal needing to be replaced. I'm not too sure if the tune has a modified pedal map. I'll have to look into that
 

·
Registered
2007 S40 2.4i / 2007 C70 T5
Joined
·
1,089 Posts
Let me guess, that’s why you had to replace pedal assembly???

Also, does your tune have a modified throttle pedal mapping?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

All indicators pointed towards the pedal needing to be replaced. I'm not too sure if the tune has a modified pedal map. I'll have to look into that
That question was for @evy0311. Because a few days ago had to replace the bracket that holds both pedals.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top