SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just test-drove the XC90 yesterday. Great car, albeit pricey. It's our top pick as we are looking for a safe third row SUV. Already own an XC60 (with Polestar, love it) and this would be our second car.

Main issue with it is that it seems pretty cumbersome to get in and out of the third row when there are two car seats in the second row. I know this is an issue with all third-row SUVs that don't have captain's chairs in the 2nd row.

Does anyone know if it's possible to remove the center seat so you create a walkway back to the third seat? Or do we put one car seat in the middle and one on the side, leaving a side 2nd row seat open as an easier way to get to the third?

Any help or advice is appreciated as we decide (deciding between this and the Highlander, Durango, Pilot, QX60).

·
Registered
1,632 Posts
I've been posting about captains chairs for many months now.

Consensus seems to be that I'm a bad parent and can't control my 3 kids, otherwise wouldn't need them.

Rumor has it that upcoming MDX refresh will offer them, I'll believe it when I see it...

·
Registered
4,289 Posts
Since the side seats can move on their own, I believe technically it should be possible to remove the middle seat. How hard it is I cannot tell but should not be that hard to access once the side seats are moved forward. Even though Volvo won't give formal instructions on this people will figure out quite soon once their cars are out of warranty.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts