SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm a prospective first time Volvo owner having just ordered my XC90.
To those of you who own or owned Volvos or other cars with boosted engines, how robust are they? is there any significant maintenance requirements after you hit certain mileage?

i know theoretical reliability of boosted engines is not as good as those without, simply because of the complexity, more parts, etc..., but what about real life reliability.

anyone had bad experience having their turbocharged/supercharged engine fixed?

thank you all for inputs.

·
Registered
673 Posts
Assuming they are well designed, I don't think forced induction engines are any less reliable than naturally aspirated ones.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts
I'm not an engineer but I was a mechanic for many years so take it for what it's worth. A boosted engine was used to replace larger/higher cylinder count engines, so a turbo 4 would be used to replace a normally aspirated 6.

A normally aspirated 6 cylinder has 4 more moving parts that a normally aspirated 4 cylinder in that it has 2 more pistons and 2 more rods.
A turbo 4 has essentially 1 more moving part than a normally aspirated 4 in the turbo shaft, which is much easier to replace if it were to fail than a rod or piston.

Volvo has been making reliable boosted engine since the 1970's.

The engine in the XC90 also has a supercharger attached adding I believe 1 additional moving part, another spinning shaft (some have 2 shafts, I'm not sure about the one in our vehicle). This is still less internal moving parts than the normally aspirated 6.

Other reasons to use the boosted 4 over the normally aspirated 6 is lighter weight, better packaging, better fuel economy and ease of maintenance.

Congratulations on your purchase!

·
Registered
559 Posts