SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As a mostly rural resident, I learned about railroad overpasses, trains and their effect on a car's paint. Bottom line is a two bucket method is a must, but the wash was time-consuming regardless of method. A ceramic coating or paint protection film seemed to mitigate the risks and potential damage to the paint.

Yesterday evening (10:30 pm in the dark), I was driving south and went under a railroad overpass where a freight training was traveling from east to west in the Phoenix area. My wife said there is a train on the overpass going west. I said to myself "okay" and proceeded under the overpass where I was met with the proverbial "May flies" experience (like in MN). I thought I hit a mess of mosquitos or May flies, but instead, it was the shavings coming off of the rails and rail cars.

Today, I sprayed down my car (sides and underneath) and then started with the two-bucket wash with OptiCoat no rinse. To my surprise, I found all kinds of black marks on my left front, driver (left) side and rear of the car. [Update: The roof top had minimal marks.]. I have partial paint protection film on the front and hood which was easy to clean. I also have a ceramic coating which was more time-consuming to clean, but I am glad that I had it. My wash time has seemingly doubled.

What are the experiences and recommendations of fellow urban dwellers and drivers where rail overpasses be a way of life? Do you try to avoid railroad overpasses? Any tips on washing beyond using plenty of soap and two-bucket method? TIA.

[Another Update: The shavings may have come from a combination of bearings, wheels and rail. but I did not come across any permanent pits so that is the good news. Some of the black marks may have also come from tar/asphalt on a trip between AZ, CA and back. Anyway, on a white car, one can see a lot of imperfections.]

·
Registered
1,015 Posts