SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once I realized that the R cluster (from a 2004) won't function in the T5 (2001), I wasn't going to waste a perfectly good cluster. Last night I decided that I was going to swap out the parts from the R cluster into the T5 and see what happens. From what I know, the only other person to do this was S60Evolve from Sweden. This install is not complete but the majority of the work is done. I still need to change out the LED's from the yellowish colored ones to brighter white ones, or possible blue. I have not decided yet. On to the pics and descriptions!<br> <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://********************/smile/emthup.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>1) A side by side comparison of the clusters. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:1gaugestable_001" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/1gaugestable_001.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>2) The outer bezel and plastic cover are all held by clips around the cluster. Just use a screwdriver to carefully pry them loose. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:2clip" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/2clip.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>3) Once the shrouds are removed, this is what the clusters look like inside. Still look pretty much the same.<p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:3nobezels" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/3nobezels.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>4) In order to remove the gauge faces, the needles need to be taken off. Be careful with this step as the guage face itself can be scratched by whatever tool you use. I chose a fork. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/tongue.gif" BORDER="0"><p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:4fork" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/4fork.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A> <p>5) With the needles off, 2 screws hold the face of the gauge on. When removed, the faces can be removed from the cluster. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:5facesoff" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/5facesoff.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>6) When the front of the face is removed this is the piece behind it (T5 shown). The center part that looks like an orange square is wrapped in extremely thin copper wire.<p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:6T5underface" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/6T5underface.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>7) These are the R gauge faces installed in the T5 cluster. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:7RfacesonT5" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/7RfacesonT5.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>8) This part of the R shroud needs to be cut away before clipping it back into the T5 cluster. I broke a clip trying to get it to fit before I realized that this piece was keeping the two from fitting together flushly. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vortexmediagroup.com/images/banghead.gif" BORDER="0"> On the R cluster, this just acts as a channel for the upper lighting wires. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:8Rclusterdelete" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/8Rclusterdelete.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>9) With the shroud installed. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:9T5clusterwbezel" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/9T5clusterwbezel.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>10) With the plastic shield installed. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:10Clusterwshield" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/10Clusterwshield.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>11) The lights on top of the cluster. I have yet to figure out how to power these, which is where I need someones help that is good with wiring. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:11Rtoplights" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/11Rtoplights.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>12) This is the connector that comes off of the lights. I am assuming it just needs a 12 V power source but I am unsure of what I need to do to ground it or if any relays will be needed. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:12Rlightwire" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/12Rlightwire.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>13) This is when I first reinstalled the cluster and tested the lights. Everything works, but the lights are more of a yellowish than white. Due to the nature of the bulbs, there is a HUGE bright spot in the cluster and I am unsure of how to remedy that without major work. I think once I get the front illumination working it will not show as bad as it is right now. S60Evolve had the same issue, except he used blue LED's instead of white. I am unsure of which ones I will try.<p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:13installed" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/13installed.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>14) The needles need to be adjusted. WHen I was driving they weren't reading quite right, so I think I may have pushed them down a little too far. I will check it out when I take it apart again this weekend. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:14installed" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/14installed.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>15) Quick day shot I just took while at work...kind of dark but they look nice. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:16InteriorDay" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/16InteriorDay.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>16) Just a quick shot while I was out there of the aluminum mesh door blades that I put in last week. <p><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:17InteriorDoorblade" TARGET="_blank"><IMG SRC="http://www.hostdub.com/albums/VRSixRado/17InteriorDoorblade.sized.jpg" BORDER="0"></A><p>So this is where I stand right now. I am going to order some bulbs today to replace the stock lighting. I need help with the wiring of the top lights if anyone has any experience with wiring and can help me out, I would be very grateful. So comment/criticize/flame away. Thanks for checking this out! <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://********************/smile/emthup.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>-Adam <BR><BR>
<i>Modified by S60Driven at 8:37 AM 7-12-2006</i>
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,831 Posts
Re: R Gauge Install...(photo intensive) (S60Driven)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>S60Driven</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote"><br>4) In order to remove the gauge faces, the needles need to be taken off. Be careful with this step as the guage face itself can be scratched by whatever tool you use. I chose a fork. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/tongue.gif" BORDER="0"><br> </TD></TR></TABLE><p>planning on eating the fuel gauge? <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"><p><br>looks good and kudos to you for taking on such a task! If you want, you could supply a +12V ignition powered source and they would be on anytime the car is on...otherwise you will have to cut into the DRL circuit.<p>(my only suggestion is that you take the pics you have posted and resize them using a tool such as Microsoft's powertoy "resize image" just because you have 16 LARGE images and that will take those on dialups ALL day to load <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/wink.gif" BORDER="0">)<BR><BR>
<i>Modified by phuz at 11:05 AM 7-12-2006</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: R Gauge Install...(photo intensive) (phuz)

Hah, I was waiting for someone to make that remark...mmmm fuel guage. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/smile.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>Yeah, I know the pics are a little large but I wanted to be able to show detail in some pics. I will have to check out that program. I am on a Mac at work, so I just used p-shop to resize. <p>
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,831 Posts
you could still output a file size of 800x600 for about 1/3 the size of what they are now...and very easy to use through windows shell (right click)<p>so as of right now, your gauges are dark at nighttime?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Re: (phuz)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>phuz</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">you could still output a file size of 800x600 for about 1/3 the size of what they are now...and very easy to use through windows shell (right click)<p>so as of right now, your gauges are dark at nighttime?</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Ok, fixed the pics so they are smaller. Should load faster now. <p>For now the gauges are dark at night. Hopefully only until this weekend when I can get the top lights wired up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,273 Posts
WOW, you resized the pics just when they were done loading on my narrowband connection <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vortexmediagroup.com/images/banghead.gif" BORDER="0"><p>Your project is looking real good, might want to bring your car in the dealer for your SRS warning and next time DC your battery when you are going to remove anything.... Good luck (I would go with xenon or blue LEDS <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/wink.gif" BORDER="0"> )
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,273 Posts
<A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:1gaugestable_001" TARGET="_blank">http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:1gaugestable_001</A><p>by the way radioshack and others have these cool universal remotes so you dont have to have 40 on your table <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/tongue.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,340 Posts
Re: (Copeland)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>Copeland</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote"><A HREF="http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:1gaugestable_001" TARGET="_blank">http://www.hostdub.com/VRSixRado:1gaugestable_001</A><p>by the way radioshack and others have these cool universal remotes so you dont have to have 40 on your table <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/tongue.gif" BORDER="0"></TD></TR></TABLE><p>Personally I can't stand universal remotes. They never work intuitively, at least the ones I've tried. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/smile.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>BTW, I believe that the backlighting on the R gauges is also LED.<p>In the R, the O/H Leds are always on, and the backlights only come on when the switch is in pos 1 or the auto sensor switches them on. Unless you find a way around this, they'll always be on.<p>BTW, nice work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Re: (Copeland)

Hahaha! Thanks! My girlfriend and I recently moved into a new place together so we aquired remotes for 4 tv's, 2 DVD players, 2 cable boxes, and also two Universal remotes that neither of us programmed. Gotta get on that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,254 Posts
Re: (S60Driven)

You will truly have a one of a kind car with your R gauges and the graphite/sisal interior. Nice <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/eek.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Re: (soledoc)

I didn't realize how rare that interior was until I just did a search on it. Wow, that's pretty impressive. When I saw the car at the dealership I fell in love with it, and one of the major things I loved was the interior. Thanks for the heads up! <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,486 Posts
Re: R Gauge Install...(photo intensive) (S60Driven)

Actually, there was this guy in Finland who pimped out his T5 when the R came out. He changed the bumper covers etc, and swapped the instrument cluster. He had a website, and there was a discussion either here or at vvspy, don't remember anymore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Re: R Gauge Install...(photo intensive) (Mika)

Might be the same guy. I thought he was from Sweden but that was second hand info. The one I have seen is a black 2001 S60 T5 has all Evolve and S60R parts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
167 Posts
Re: R Gauge Install...(photo intensive) (S60Driven)

hey adam,<p>awesome project! i was wondering how you go about getting those aluminum mesh door blades installed. i have the boring black plastic..and the interior needs a little boost..so i was wondering can you give me a few tips on installing these blades and how much these parts cost? thank you in advance! <p>-ryan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,254 Posts
Re: (S60Driven)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>S60Driven</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I didn't realize how rare that interior was until I just did a search on it. Wow, that's pretty impressive. When I saw the car at the dealership I fell in love with it, and one of the major things I loved was the interior. Thanks for the heads up! <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> </TD></TR></TABLE><p>I've only seen one other interior like yours on SS. I had the indigo blue cloth/grey leather split on my previous T5 and I loved that interior...almost as much as my nordkap interior now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,486 Posts
Re: (soledoc)

Now that you mention it, that Finnish dude had this same interior. I found the car on the internets: <p><A HREF="http://www.supermarket.fi/id/0010097" TARGET="_blank">http://www.supermarket.fi/id/0010097</A><p><A HREF="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v501/MARKKU/VolvoS60010.jpg" TARGET="_blank">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...0.jpg</A><p>See the turbo pressure in the trip computer display.<p>My Finnish is a bit rusty but the car's for sale.<br>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Re: (Mika)

Wow, how the hell did he get the turbo pressure to read on the display? I know that on my Corrado there was a few tricks to get the display to read RPM's and some other random stuff...little factory secrets...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,486 Posts
Re: (S60Driven)

he says it's DTP indicator (digital turbo pressure), which does not tell much, and I did not find anything with quick googling. Finding his original website would help, I recall he detailed everything he did.<p><br>Edit: Okay, now I remember, he has a custom tune and the DTP was programmed by the tuner. He's got a lot of goodies, turbo, injectors, aquamist, DP... The car goes 5 something 0-100kph. <BR><BR>
<i>Modified by Mika at 8:32 AM 7-14-2006</i>
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,831 Posts
Re: (S60Driven)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>S60Driven</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Wow, how the hell did he get the turbo pressure to read on the display? I know that on my Corrado there was a few tricks to get the display to read RPM's and some other random stuff...little factory secrets...</TD></TR></TABLE><p>that, my friend, is the work of an engineer <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"><p>I wonder if he changed the update frequency of the display, because if you reference your instantaneous MPG, for example, its update frequency is what...once every 2 seconds? I would think for a digital boost reading you would want AT LEAST 15 Hz.<p>
 
1 - 20 of 52 Posts
Top