SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After much deliberation, I have decided to paint the side moldings on my 01 V70 to match. I will probably end up doing the same to the side sills and bumper sills. I always thought my silver wagon was a bit stodgy and think the color matching might spruce it up a bit. If anybody has any other ideas to dress it up, let me know. I have very dark tinted windows and am also tossing around the idea of blacking out the b-pillar.

I was wondering if anybody has done this and give me some input on what they learned in the process. I used to be a painter and will be using professional equipment, I was just wondering if anybody had experience with this particular material(the side moldings). Tips on what primer or preparation methods to use would be very useful.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Modified by dugums at 9:17 PM 7-9-2006

Modified by dugums at 9:17 PM 7-9-2006

·
Registered
8,839 Posts
Re: Painting the moldings DIY questions (dugums)

Be very careful removing the moldings from the door.
They can be damaged easily and you will then have to buy new ones.

When we do it, we just use new moldings.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Painting the moldings DIY questions (VolvoMax)

Moldings came off pretty easy. I was hoping I could damage them so I would HAVE to buy the primed factory ones.... No such luck!

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

I ended up sanding and prepping the original moldings instead of using the primed ones from Volvo. Other than the drying time the project is pretty quick.

I had a spare molding which I experimented with first, and this is what I found: