SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, i just got my 07 Volvo s40 PAssion red, and now i want to paint the calipers Red. I'm thinking about using VHT SP731 Real Red Brake Caliper Paint Can - 11 oz. But what do you guys think? should i just pay my local volvo dealership to paint the calipers and match the color to the car? or should i just pick a different color like white or something?

Also should i buy the larger volvo logo and have the paint it black and put them spaced out on the back of the car?

lol guys don't make fun of me I'm just getting started with this car, ill take any suggestions on what to do to it!

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
I updated the rear logo on my S80 to the spaced out version but I wouldn't paint it black (as a personal preference). Maybe I'm not visualizing it properly but it doesn't seem like it would look good.

·
Registered
7,367 Posts
Painted calipers look great. Now painting the rotors, that's stupid.

·
Registered
5,846 Posts
If you want Red, how about this:

·
Super Moderator
15,145 Posts
I updated the rear logo on my S80 to the spaced out version but I wouldn't paint it black (as a personal preference). Maybe I'm not visualizing it properly but it doesn't seem like it would look good.
Nwidener, I know we already discussed the calipers and such. Just came across this thread though, so I thought I'd throw out a image of the black letters. Original letters, platidiped, spaced.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
IMO (because you asked) The stock calipers on your S40 and my S60 look like crap - ugly, bumpy castings - Painting them would only accentuate the ugliness.
Now if you had a real R with the Brembo calipers or of course if you had the funds go with a big brake kit -you would get improved looks and stopping.

Or another option (and it's about $200 bucks) would be MGP caliper covers - I was toying with this for my car but of course they don't have them for the S60.