SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my V50 is have power loss and finally threw a code. P0089 and P0090. I have ordered a fuel pressure sensor and I am wondering if I should look pulling the fuel pump to inspect the filter. Anyone know of a DIY for this?

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
From what I've read it could be couple of things:
- fuel pressure sensor defective
- fuel filter
- fuel pump all together
- Sensor(s) connector(s) disloge
- leak in the fuel rail or line creating a low fuel pressure conditioning

The fuel pressure sensor is costly but easily reached. That may or may not be your problem. Fuel filter isn't expensive but quite hard to reach. From what I understand it's in the pump in the fuel tank.
The pump is both hard to reach and costly.

I which I could be of more help but I have limited knowledge on the subject...

·
Registered
1,974 Posts
Why does the CEL shows different codes for the same problems? Like same problems on my car but p0193. I hope the FPS is the problem on my car and for guelphv50 sake his car too.

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
Well the code don't always point to the same thing but they may have the same cause.

the p0139 seems to indicate a faulty signal or response from the FPS
the p0080 seems to indicate wrong reading (high reading) at the exhaust valve control solenoid, what ever that is :p
and the p0090 seems to indicate that the fuel pressure signal is missing

With the combination of different codes you might be able to isolate the problem more so in theory.
I would tend to think that when you have multiple codes thrown at you it means more of a system problem such as a pump failure or leak than a sensor failure but don't take my words for it.

Here is a list of the ODB codes
I'm not sure they are all correct so once should double check as needed:
http://forums.swedespeed.com/showth...st&highlight=OBDII+Volvo+Code+Conversion+List

·
Registered
165 Posts