SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been looking for a replacement engine, and possibly a new transmission for my '66 122s, and I think I have found these items fairly close to my hometown. The seller deals in many old Swedish parts, for both Volvo and Saab. I understand that if I install a transmission with overdrive, I will need a driveshaft of a different length. The seller told me he just needed to know what length I needed for the driveshaft. I have never done this before, and I really have no idea. Does any one out there know the answer to this?

Thank you,

John

·
Registered
401 Posts
The correct DS for the M41/OD setup is ~10" shorter than the length of the M40 DS.
It should measure ~18" depending on where you measure.

Automatic Amazon shaft is the correct length, as is the front shaft from any OD car, Amazon or 1800 , and I believe 140 as well.
We are talking about the front sections of the 2piece DS, the rear does not need to be fussed with...

I've got several more of them than I need...

·
Super Moderator
9,305 Posts
as is the front shaft from any OD car, Amazon or 1800 , and I believe 140 as well.
The problem with some front sections is the front flange, which has several variations (size, u-joint) and also the center bearing which has some different bearing diameters and carriers (metal with pins, rubber donut with lower strap, etc). Lengths are indeed usually the same.

It's also possible to shorten the existing driveshaft. Most good driveline shops can cut and weld them back together on a lathe.

·
Registered
550 Posts
Had one shortened at a heavy duty truck place in Bemidji Mn.(used to be called Catco) cost around a hundred bucks.
With the logging and gravel industry those guys do a lot of drive shafts.

You'll need a longer speedometer cable although maybe you could reroute the stock one.
Also the wiring.