SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all-- I'm new to the world of forums, but I'm finding that even the dealer is a little inexperienced with all of the ins and outs of the T8 XC90, and I wanted to see if any of you smart people could give me some advice. I've had my T8 for less than a week. One of our frequent drives is from the Bay Area up to Lake Tahoe. This is about a 3 hour drive (up to 5 with traffic on a Friday evening). When we get up to the mountains, we sometimes need AWD to get through the snow. The dealer's recommendation was to do this in Save mode, to make sure there's plenty of battery to use the AWD. When I made this trip Friday I started with 1/4 battery as I had been running errands earlier in the day and didn't have time to fully charge (charger being installed this week). I placed it in Save, and assumed, given the heavy traffic, that the battery would regenerate by the time we hit the snow. However, the battery never went past 1/4 full. It didn't seem like it charged at all in Save mode.

Does anyone have any suggestions of how best to manage the settings on a drive like this? Any idea, even with a full battery, how long you can drive in AWD? The car did drive like a dream in the snow... very sure footed. It drove right around a Jeep that was spinning it's wheels on an icy part of a steep hill. (Sorry Buddy!) And can I also just add WOW do I love the adaptive cruise control in that heavy stop and go traffic-- so much more relaxing when I just have to steer!

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice! Cheers!

·
Registered
1,007 Posts