SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that Volvo recommends an oil change every 10,000 miles with full synthetic oil on MY 2013 S60s. I've never used synthetic oil before. With every new car I've ever owned, I'd get the first oil change within 3,000 miles then 4,000 to 5,000 miles thereafter. Waiting 10,000 miles makes me very nervous. I know that Volvo will only pay for the oil changes per their schedule, but what's the opinion of other MY 2013 owners? Thanks!

·
Registered
100 Posts
The general consensus around here seems to be every 3-6k and definitely with synthetic because it's a turbo. Volvo says (and will pay for, but only with dino oil) every 7.5k for my 2012 RD. I've been going every 3k with synth and just paying for every other one AND bringing my own Mobil-1. I plan on keeping my car for awhile, so I want to keep the engine clean and healthy.

·
Super Moderator
39,289 Posts
7,500 is a good interval on synthetic.
In Europe, people (with many different brands) go at least 10,000 miles between oil changes, of course, using a quality synthetic oil.

Using synthetic oil and changing it in anything less than 7,500 miles is waste of money and resources.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Oil change intervals and brands is like talking about religion and politics. For examples and arguments for and against all sides go to Bob Is the Oil Guy.com.