SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone here on the forum has tried any of the performance chip modules to boost hp on their s40 or v40 wagons?

My car a v40 is well taken care of only thing is I could really use a few little more hp even 10 more on the takeoff or hwy.

Im thinking the one that just plugs into the OBD II port would be easiest. Im not a mechanic either!

Heres the website that sells the performance boosters: http://www.performancechiptuning.com/Volvo/S40/

Any experiences with these would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Those kind of things never work. If you want more power, get a Stage 1 ECU tune.
Well my question has anyone purchased one and tried it.

If you have not used one are you going on what you read?

Ive read mixed information and just wanted some more insight and ECU tune is quite expensive compared to this and I am not in need of more than a tad more hp.

Would be nice to hear someone else chime in....

In any case where would I get a reliable Stage 1 ECU tuned? Im on the west coast of the US.

·
Super Moderator
15,166 Posts
These kinds of plug in power "chips" are telling the car is can make more power in one or two areas. But the car is still responding to what the ECU tells it to do based on it's readings from various sensors. Volvos are a lot more sophisticated than Hondas, so you'll be lucky to notice any real improvement with an OBDII plug in. The numbers advertised by those chips are under ideal conditions on cars that are most accepting of the improvement. Just like how many intake companies will advertise +20hp, that's +20hp at the crank from a car that added the intake and then had a custom tune to accommodate it. Almost no one will see those kinds of improvements from a slapped on cone filter.
The butt dyno often lies based on how light you make your wallet.