SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, im new to volvos, coming from vws, and my car has some issues that id like some advice on. i dont have very much experience working with volvos, but i spent 8 years in professional shops and 5 years repairing vehicles on the side (mostly mk4 vws). ill just get right into it...

1- most recent and serious, in the cold temperatures (below freezing) the car does not want to start. it will crank and ill smell fuel and all that but wont start, the colder it is, the worse the problem becomes. the other day it was 12 degrees and the car would not start despite me cranking it a bunch. i noticed clicking relay sounds coming from the cem area, and knowing that its a temperature related problem, put a hairdryer to the cem and warmed it up. car fired up within 3 seconds. i should note that the car never fires right off. usually cranks for 1-2 seconds even in warm temperatures. im assuming the cem needs replacement. once the car is running, it doesnt have any funny issues. car has a new crank sensor and cam sensor, i did it preventatively. still get an accasional crank sensor code. after long cranks it says reduced power, but boosts 10psi, according to my ipd gauge.

2-hvac. the blower motor is spinning its balls off and you can hear that it's blowing air, but not much comes out of the vents, recirc seems better than auto or outside, checked with vida and the foot/face motor is operating, going from 53-99%, but something isnt right. did the ccm motor sweep adaptation. no change.

3-awd inop, chassis settings warning on. the guy i got the car from told me a volvo shop diagnosed it as a bad cem. after scanning the car, i'm not so sure, no awd/dem codes. ill post a screenshot of the vida scan. any advice is appreciated.