SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Volvo Newbie Here!

I'm very interested in purchasing a 1999 XC70 with 122k miles from a private seller on Craigslist. I'm going to see it and take a test drive today or tomorrow, but wanted to tap into the resources of this board. My current ride is a 1998 Nissan Altima, very low maintenance car that got me through college with zero problems. I live in the Inland Northwest and love to ski/fly-fish/camp so I've been looking for a wagon that will feature all the functionality I desire and also provide safety during the winter. I have two young kids (ages 3 & 1) so the safety of a Volvo is a huge plus for me. I understand the undertaking of purchasing an older Volvo, and don't mind getting my hands dirty to help keep a great car running.

The car does have the check engine and airbag light on, but the owner took it to the local Volvo dealer to get everything checked out and I will be doing the test drive after it has been returned from the dealer. Aside from running a code scan and examining the car during the test drive, what should I lookout for? If this car checks out I would like to get it into the 250K+ mileage range, is that realistic? I've done quite a bit of reading on these forums the last few days but I just thought I would jump in the conversation and hopefully make the right decision.

I look forward to any and all input, thanks!

·
Registered
22 Posts
I bought a 2000 XC a couple months ago. Lots of maintenance issues. Definitely make sure that whatever issues are with the codes are taken care off. I made the mistake of taking the guys word and found a giant headache instead.