SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I figured it was a good idea to introduce myself. I'm new to the 240 and Volvos as a whole. My boyfriend has had 23 different Volvos not including parts cars. He current has a 92 940 Turbo Wagon and a 68 1800S auto-xer.

I bought a 1990 245 GL, he just rolled 300,000 miles on the second transmission and original engine. No accident history, originally bought in GA and has lived in NC the past 15 years. It's a one owner car. Aside from the usual broken plastics, bent hood (rusted hinges seem to be pretty common), worn suspension and ball bearings dying in the blower fan the car is in good shape. I'm driving it to and from work for the next few months.

I am going to start troubleshooting the broken cruise control this weekend (and already have a feeling it's cluster or module related). The Volvo Gods have already tested me as the fuel pump conked out 45 miles into the drive home; an aftermarket pump was installed road-side. (Then we got caught in a rain/hale storm, and I've not owned a RWD car in at least 10 years, my panic level was a little up there with the gusty winds and fear of spin-out on the highway).

But... we're home. car drives ok, and is rust-free... which is important because it's destined to become my turbo diesel brick.

·
Premium Member
19,953 Posts
Welcome to Swedespeed, Chris.

"He" - your '90 245, needs a name so we can have an easy reference. If it were a "She" a cool name would be "Wonona".

Turbo diesel in a 245 - no problem. You going with the bolt-in VW motor with 5-speed or other?

George Dill

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks George,

My boyfriend insisted on the name Sterling, and I was resistant to the name (the owner's middle name was Jan, and I wanted to use that). I emailed the PO and he said "the only name the kids ever used was silver car." Sterling Silver it is.