SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I recently purchase a 1995 V70R with just over 49K on it from Don Beyer in Dulles. On my second fill up I calculated the mileage and it was about 13.6 MPG. This seems a little low. Granted 90% of the driving is trips of less than 3 miles with frequent stop signs. So this may be fine.

I'm just wondering if I should change out the plugs, clean the MAF or other steps. I guess what I am getting at is what do they do during CPO inspection? I probably putting off an oil change until 52.5K but should I just order plugs and change them out myself. I hear the process is a little painful.

I am no newbie to car work. I replaced teh motor in my VR6 twice (don't ask) and I go to the point that my buddy and I could pull and break down a motor in less than 8 hours.

I have installed a K&N and am considering both the TCV group buy and the CAI from IPD.

One more thing I am getting an interesting sensation when I turn the steering wheel, a thumping through the floor of the car. I'm guessing there could be something going on with the bushings? I bet that's like $500-$1000 and not covered under CPO.

The R is good fun and pulls better than my VR6 even as hopped up as it was.

·
Registered
262 Posts
Re: New to R gas milage CPO and maintenance (nbwallace)

Wow, I didn't realize you could get a 1995 CPO! How long is the warranty? Sorry I can't help with your questions, just thought I'd say welcome to SS, and my father-in-law has an 1995 850 T-5R and loves it!

Adam

·
Registered
21,340 Posts

Quote, originally posted by nbwallace »
Hi All,

I recently purchase a 1995 V70R with just over 49K on it from Don Beyer in Dulles. On my second fill up I calculated the mileage and it was about 13.6 MPG. This seems a little low. Granted 90% of the driving is trips of less than 3 miles with frequent stop signs. So this may be fine.